Home » Property Taxes

2013-2014 Real Property Tax Rates

County Class Taxable bldg per/$1000 Taxable land per/$1000
       
HAWAII Residential $10.05 $10.05
  Apartment $10.85 $10.85
  Commercial $10.05 $10.05
  Industrial $10.05 $10.05
  Agricultural/Native Forests $9.25 $9.25
  Conservation $10.85 $10.85
  Hotel/Resort $10.85 $10.85
  Homeowner $6.15 $6.15
  Affordable Renting Housing $6.15 $6.15

 

HONOLULU Residential $3.50 $3.50
  Commercial $12.40 $12.40
  Industrial $12.40 $12.40
  Agricultural $5.70 $5.70
  Vacant Agricultural $8.50 $8.50
  Preservation $5.70 $5.70
  Hotel/Resort $12.40 $12.40
  Public Service $0.00 $0.00

 

KAUAI Residential $5.75 $5.75
  Vacation Rental $8.00 $8.00
  Commercial $8.00 $8.00
  Industrial $8.00 $8.00
  Agricultural $6.75 $6.75
  Conservation $6.75 $6.75
  Hotel/Resort $9.00 $9.00
  Homestead $3.05 $3.05

 

MAUI * Residential $5.75 $5.75
  Apartment $6.40 $6.40
  Commercial $7.05 $7.05
  Industrial $7.30 $7.30
  Agricultural $6.05 $6.05
  Conservation $6.25 $6.25
  Hotel/Resort $9.40 $9.40
  Homeowner $2.87 $2.87
  Timeshare $15.55 $15.55
  Commercial Residential $4.60 $4.60
       

* Maui County includes the islands of Lanai, Maui and Molokai.

Hawaii real property tax rates are for the fiscal year 2013-2014. The 1st installment payment of property taxes is due on August 20 and is for the tax period from July 1 to December 31. The 2nd installment payment due on February 20 is for the tax period from January 1 to June 30.

Home Exemptions

The law allows just one (1) home exemption; if a husband and wife live apart and own separate homes, each shall be entitled to one-half (1/2) of one exemption or to an exemption apportioned between their respective homes in proportion to the assessed value.

In order to qualify for a home exemption, you must own and occupy the property as your principal residence with the intent to reside on the island so many days in a calendar year: Hawaii (200 days), Honolulu (270 days), Kauai (181 days) and Maui (270 days).

The home exemption is deducted from the assessed value and the homeowner is taxed on the balance. Current home exemptions: Hawaii ($40,000), Honolulu ($80,000), Kauai ($160,000) and Maui ($200,000). Exemptions for homeowners 60 years and older: Hawaii (60-69: $80,000; 70+: $100,000), Honolulu (65+: $120,000) and Kauai (60-70: $180,000; 70+: $200,000).